THE CHANGING FACE OF SCIENCE

I love to listen to elders. Their wisdom, their experience, and the differences between their life and ours; they always initiate a rich reflection in me. Things inside and outside of Science have changed so much for the last 100 years and most of us aren’t able to grasp the implications of these changes.

Not so long ago, I had the pleasure to listen to a great conference by a seasoned researcher that shaped and transformed the field of plant ecology. He started to teach and do research at a time where there were no computers, when reviewing articles was done by hand on paper and transmitted by post.

social_networks_before_internet

He told us about the time when you took your time to write a manuscript, a time when you would spend your Friday afternoon reading the last interesting paper in your field of research (and didn’t have to pick between 500 hundreds). A time when you could still disconnect from anything when you were in vacation. A time when publishing was at a much more slow pace.

Then he switched to talking about the challenges of Science with the new technologies:

  • The amount of papers being published every year;
  • Trying to keep track of the interesting papers published in your domain;
  • The difficulty of publishing with the increased competition from other countries;
  • The struggle of Journals to select which papers should be published;
  • The issues to find good (and fair) reviewers;
  • The closed (capitalist) access to Science;
  • The limits and burdens of social presence online (blogs, twitter, etc.);
  • Etc.

And then the conference switched from “mighty interesting” to “monumentally depressing”.

I acknowledge the actual limits and pitfalls of Science and the publication system. I know the challenges that await someone that wants to do research in a world where funding comes with profit (especially for the last years in Canada). However, if I only focus on the challenges and the issues that I’ll have to tackle, I might as well stay in bed every morning and never get up.

Yes it will be harder; yes it will require more work. But I won’t be discouraged by the negativity of an elder not able to adapt to a fast changing system. And someone who didn’t achieve his dream job or is frustrated by the challenges encountered along the way won’t dishearten me either.

The key resides in being more strategic and knowing yourself. The first question my supervisor asked me when I started my Ph.D. was: “What do you want to do after your Ph.D.?” After identifying everything I had to do to put the odds in my favor, I have worked (and I am still working) on every aspect of our strategy:

  • I tweet, professionally.
  • I write a blog, occasionally, to practice my writing.
  • I have a personal web site to be present online when a future employer looks for it.
  • I am present on LinkedIn, on Research Gate, and I have a profile on Google scholar.
  • And I work hard to produce good papers.

But I won’t stop to love what I do because it is harder then yesterday.

I’ll try to remember that when I’ll be older and when I’ll get scared of the challenges of the youth.

This entry was posted in Graduate student, Graduate Student Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

